chrono about
The Nina Simone Database

Let It Be Me
Original discography

Verve 831 437-1 (1987 US)

I was approached by Verve Polygram Records during a time in the mid-80's when they were releasing a series of recordings titled, Live at The Vine St. Bar & Grill.
Her record was to be titled Let It Be Me and I would be shooting it at my home studio in the Hollywood Hills. It would be me with the 'High Priestess of Soul', along with a stylist and my favorite lighting assistant.
When the record company's art department came around to packaging Let It Be Me, they wanted a "live" shot to grace the back of the LP. Ironically, of all the photos considered, the Village Gate shot from 1971 was the one chosen. Both photos were included in the 2005 Let It Be Me CD re-issue as well.
- Sherry Rayn Barnett, photographer, interviewed October 2007 at RockPop Gallery

See all releases of this album.
Tracks sorted by number (sort by session or by title)
 1 [3:01] My Baby Just Cares for Me   Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn

 2 [3:15] I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl   Tim Brymn, Dally Small, Clarence Williams

 3 [6:00] Fodder in Her Wings   Nina Simone

 4 [3:54] Be My Husband   Andy Stroud

 5 [3:38] Just Like a Woman   Bob Dylan

 6 [3:19] Balm in Gilead   Traditional

 7 [4:31] Stars   Janis Ian

 8 [2:53] Heaven Belongs To You   Traditional

 9 [7:14] If You Knew / Let It Be Me   Gilbert Becaud, Pierre Delanoe, Curtis Mann, Nina Simone (medley)

 10 [4:42] Baltimore   Randy Newman