chrono about
The Nina Simone Database

At the Village Gate
Original discography

Roulette CDP 7950582 (1991 US)

Same tracks as LP with same title.
Tracks sorted by title (sort by session or by number)
 5 [5:53] Brown Baby   Oscar Brown jr

 4 [8:21] Bye Bye Blackbird   Mort Dixon, Ray Henderson instrumental

 8 [7:47] Children Go Where I Send You   Traditional

 2 [5:02] He Was Too Good to Me   Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers

 3 [4:38] House of the Rising Sun   Traditional

 7 [4:00] If He Changed my Name   Macgimsey

 1 [6:36] Just in Time   Betty Comden, Adolph Green, Jule Styne

 6 [3:00] Zungo   Michael Olatunji

Liner Notes
In this, Nina Simone's fifth album on Colpix, there is a natural and inevitable chemistry working... the elements are Nina herself and a loer Manhattan cafe called The Village Gate. Nina calls it her "home club", and certainly, as this album testifies, she wears it as comfortably as old clothing.

Along with the expert and familiar trio composed of guitarist Al Schackman, drummer Bobby Hamilton, and bassist Chris White, Nina fashions an amazingly versatile, always exciting performance. She ranges with ease from Broadway ("Just In Time" from "Bells Are Ringing") to folk music (the famous and haunting "House of the Rising Sun") to a standard ("Bye Bye Blackbird") which receives as unique and definitive a treatment as this old 1920s song has ever had.

All in all, Nina at the Village Gate is a fresh new triumph for the girl who has been aptly tabbed "One of the great singing talents of our time..."