chrono about
The Nina Simone Database

The Tomato Collection
Budget compilation

Tomato R2 71712 (1994)

A ragtag double-CD anthology that ranges all over the place: solo jazz piano, show tunes, soul, and live versions of many of her best-known songs, seemingly taken from the '50s, '60s, and '70s. Annoyingly -- and, sadly, typically, for the Tomato label -- there is absolutely no information about when and where the tracks were recorded. Despite the drawbacks, in a way this is about the most wide-ranging Simone collection available, and much of the live material is good and quite different from the studio versions, although the fidelity on these is sometimes hissy.
-Richie Unterberger, All Music Guide
Tracks sorted by number (sort by session or by title)
Disk 1
 1 [3:42] Cotton-Eyed Joe   Traditional

 2 [4:01] I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)   Duke Ellington, Paul Francis Webster

 3 [2:20] You Better Know It   Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn

 4 [3:31] Satin Doll   Duke Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Billy Strayhorn

 5 [2:24] It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)   Duke Ellington, Irving Mills

 6 [2:09] The Laziest Gal in Town   Cole Porter

 7 [4:56] The Assignment Song-Sequence   Jan Hendin

 8 [3:56] See-Line Woman   George Bass

 9 [5:11] Ne Me Quitte Pas   Jacques Brel

 10 [3:39] Remind Me   Dorothy Fields, Jerome Kern with strings added

 11 [4:10] No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed   Richie Havens

 12 [3:04] Backlash Blues   Langston Hughes, Nina Simone

 13 [6:09] Ain't Got No / I Got Life   Gal MacDermot, James Rado, Gerome Ragni

 14 [5:23] But Beautiful   Johnny Burke, James Van Heusen

 15 [4:36] Blue Prelude   Joe Bishop, Gordon Jenkins with strings added

 16 [4:21] Nina's Blues   Nina Simone

 17 [2:22] Sunday in Savannah   Hugh Mac Kay listed as One More Sunday in Savannah

 18 [2:19] I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl   Tim Brymn, Dally Small, Clarence Williams

 19 [2:41] Ain't No Use   Rudy Stevenson

 20 [4:10] To Be Young, Gifted and Black   Weldon Irvine jr, Nina Simone

Disk 2
 1 [5:06] Gin House Blues   Harry Burke first encore

 2 [2:31] Zungo   Michael Olatunji

 3 [4:14] Spring Is Here   Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers with strings added

 4 [4:37] Just in Time   Betty Comden, Adolph Green, Jule Styne click, click, click

 5 [3:48] Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood   Bennie Benjamin, Gloria Caldwell, Sol Marcus

 6 [6:54] House of the Rising Sun   Traditional

 7 [4:19] Near to You   Richard Adler, Jerry Ross with strings added

 8 [4:57] When I Was a Young Girl   Sebastian Mure

 9 [3:57] I Loves You Porgy   George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward

 10 [3:57] Solitude   Edgar DeLange, Duke Ellington, Irving Mills

 11 [2:24] Hey, Buddy Bolden   Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn

 12 [8:45] Four Women   Nina Simone

 13 [5:26] The Thrill Is Gone   Lew Brown, Ray Henderson

 14 [3:52] Since My Love Has Gone   Aaron Neville, Wasserman with strings added

 15 [3:04] Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair   Traditional with strings added

 16 [2:42] I'll Look Around   George Cory, Douglas Cross

 17 [4:15] When I Was in My Prime   Traditional

Liner Notes by David Nathan

Enigmatic, eccentric but always unique, Nina simone's musical individuality ha a allowed her to survive in an industry that barely tolerates those who streatch the limits of creative expression to defy categorization.

to be continued...