chrono about
The Nina Simone Database

At the Village Gate
Original discography

Colpix CP/SCP 421 (1962 US)

Nina's fifth album with Colpix. Recorded live at the Village Gate, New York on April 1961. Released after April 1962.

The talented Nina - currently hot as an album artist - should do very well with this one. It's her fifth package on Colpix. It's exceptionally tasteful and the sides are fresh in performance concept. Included are a broad range of material: "Just in Time,' "House of the Rising Sun," "Children Go Where I Send You," - a range which showcases the thrush's talents.
-Billboard 11 December 1961.

See all releases of this album.
See all releases of this album on RYM.

Tracks sorted by number (sort by session or by title)
 1 [6:15] Just in Time   Betty Comden, Adolph Green, Jule Styne

 2 [4:58] He Was Too Good to Me   Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers

 3 [4:34] House of the Rising Sun   Traditional

 4 [8:26] Bye Bye Blackbird   Mort Dixon, Ray Henderson instrumental

 5 [5:50] Brown Baby   Oscar Brown jr

 6 [2:53] Zungo   Michael Olatunji

 7 [4:04] If He Changed my Name   Macgimsey

 8 [7:56] Children Go Where I Send You   Traditional

Liner Notes
In this, Nina Simone's fifth album on Colpix, there is a natural and inevitable chemistry working... the elements are Nina herself and a loer Manhattan cafe called The Village Gate. Nina calls it her "home club", and certainly, as this album testifies, she wears it as comfortably as old clothing.

Along with the expert and familiar trio composed of guitarist Al Schackman, drummer Bobby Hamilton, and bassist Chris White, Nina fashions an amazingly versatile, always exciting performance. She ranges with ease from Broadway ("Just In Time" from "Bells Are Ringing") to folk music (the famous and haunting "House of the Rising Sun") to a standard ("Bye Bye Blackbird") which receives as unique and definitive a treatment as this old 1920s song has ever had.

All in all, Nina at the Village Gate is a fresh new triumph for the girl who has been aptly tabbed "One of the great singing talents of our time..."