chrono about
The Nina Simone Database

Let It Be Me
Original discography

Verve 831 437-2 (1987 US)

Published February 23, 1987 with 2 bonus tracks.
See all releases of this album.
Tracks sorted by number (sort by session or by title)
 1 [3:01] My Baby Just Cares for Me   Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn

 2 [3:15] I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl   Tim Brymn, Dally Small, Clarence Williams

 3 [6:00] Fodder in Her Wings   Nina Simone

 4 [3:54] Be My Husband   Andy Stroud

 5 [3:38] Just Like a Woman   Bob Dylan

 6 [3:19] Balm in Gilead   Traditional

 7 [4:31] Stars   Janis Ian

 8 [2:53] Heaven Belongs To You   Traditional

 9 [7:14] If You Knew / Let It Be Me   Gilbert Becaud, Pierre Delanoe, Curtis Mann, Nina Simone (medley)

 10 [4:52] Four Women   Nina Simone bonus track

 11 [5:02] Mississippi Goddam   Nina Simone bonus track

 12 [4:42] Baltimore   Randy Newman

Liner Notes
Having crooned – and sometimes growled – her way through jazz, blues, folk, and even show tunes, Nina Simone remains one of popular music's most versatile and eccentric vocal talents. LET IT BE ME features Simone on piano along with occasional vocal accompaniment by unnamed singers. In addition to her vast vocal talents, Simone has also written dozens of excellent songs. However, here she interprets a wide variety of contemporary material. Her versions of Randy Newman's "Baltimore," Bob Dylan's "Just Like a Woman," and Janis Ian's "Stars" are all excellent, as is her take on the haunting, African-esque "Be My Husband." Also featured on LET IT BE ME are terrific versions of her self-penned "Mississippi Goddam," "Four Women," and "If You Pray Right (Heaven Belongs to You)."