chrono about
The Nina Simone Database



Kultur D2981 (2005 US)

See all releases of this DVD.
Tracks sorted by number (sort by session or by title)
 1 [2:23] Sunday in Savannah   Hugh Mac Kay

 2 [2:50] I'll Look Around   George Cory, Douglas Cross

 3 [4:42] Nina's Blues   Nina Simone listed as Instrumental Blues

 4 [4:22] When I Was in My Prime   Traditional

 5 [3:04] Zungo   Michael Olatunji

 6 [3:54] For All We Know   Coots, Lewis

 7 [5:38] Strawberry Woman / Crab Man / I Loves You Porgy   George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward (medley)

 8 [3:09] Eretz Zavat Chalav U'dvash   Eliahu Gamliel

Liner Notes

This release contains rare performances by two of the most admired jazz singers of all time, filmed during approximately the same period. In addition to her brilliant vocals, the great Nina Simone (1933-2003) was also an accomplished pianist. She always resisted the idea of being categorized, and her repertoire included a wide variety of songs, from the usual jazz standards like "For All We Know" or "I Loves You Porgy", to spirituals, soul music and an eclectic mix of folk songs. She was also a fervent activist in the defense of the Civil Rights of African Americans. Her magnetism is well captured on these two shows, which present her in the earlier phase of her career.