chrono about
The Nina Simone Database

Golden Hour of
Budget compilation

Golden Hour GH 535 (1972 UK)

Tracks sorted by number (sort by session or by title)
 1 [3:05] Gin House Blues   Harry Burke

 2 [2:35] Work Song   Nat Adderley, Oscar Brown jr

 3 [3:48] Forbidden Fruit   Oscar Brown jr

 4 [5:40] Trouble in Mind   Richard Jones standard live version

 5 [5:08] I Loves You Porgy   George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward

 6 [4:39] Little Liza Jean   Traditional

 7 [6:07] Nina's Blues   Nina Simone

 8 [3:28] Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair   Traditional

 9 [3:09] Exactly Like You   Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh

 10 [2:55] The Other Woman   Jessie Mae Robinson

 11 [8:02] Under the Lowest   Nina Simone

 12 [5:49] You Can Have Him (I Don't Want Him)   Irving Berlin

 13 [5:45] Summertime   George Gershwin, DuBose Heyward

 14 [2:51] Cotton-Eyed Joe   Traditional

Liner Notes
In musical circles she's referred to, quite rightly, as 'The High Priestess of Soul' and listening to her album it's not hard to understand just why Nina Simone should have achieved that kind of acclaim.
Her television and concert appearances, her records and her whole approach to show business clearly show that the girl who was born the sixth child in a family of eight in North Carolina was clearly destined to be a star. Even as a child she taught herself to play piano and organ and when family finances threatened her musical education, it was a local teacher who spotted the potential in Nina and trained her at classical levels free of charge. Then, having studied at the famed Juilliard School of Music Nina moved with her family to Philadelphia where she become accompanist for vocal students and gave private piano lessons in order to finance her own musical education.
Nina Simone sings from the soul and because she goes so, everything she performs takes on a very special musical aura. Listen to this Golden Hour by a talented and supreme artist and you'll understand just what title 'Priestess of Soul' really means.