chrono about
The Nina Simone Database

Finest Hour
Quality compilations

Verve 314 543 604-2 (2000 US)

This CD is part of Verve's Finest Hour series. Digitally remastered by Jeff Willens (Universal Mastering Studios-East). Compilation producer: Bryan Koniarz.

Tracks sorted by number (sort by session or by title)
 1 [4:06] Love Me or Leave Me   Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn

 2 [6:59] Wild Is the Wind   Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington

 3 [2:37] I Put a Spell on You   Screamin' Jay Hawkins, Slotkin sax solo by Jerome Richardson

 4 [3:08] Work Song   Nat Adderley, Oscar Brown jr

 5 [4:22] Don't Explain   Arthur Herzog jr, Billie Holiday

 6 [3:05] The Other Woman   Jessie Mae Robinson

 7 [4:55] Mississippi Goddam   Nina Simone

 8 [4:26] Four Women   Nina Simone

 9 [6:41] Pirate Jenny   Bertolt Brecht, Kurt Weill piano played by Atkinson

 10 [2:32] I Loves You Porgy   George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward

 11 [3:00] This Year's Kisses   Irving Berlin

 12 [4:21] Little Girl Blue   Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers unedited version

 13 [2:48] Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood   Bennie Benjamin, Gloria Caldwell, Sol Marcus

 14 [3:38] Ne Me Quitte Pas   Jacques Brel

 15 [5:24] Don't Smoke in Bed   Willard Robison